Spout and Resolume Arena 6

Hi, I’m very new to both, Spout and Arena. I’m trying to connect OBS to Arena so I can correct a perspective from a live feed.

So far I got the feed from a live cam into Arena via USB Video to OBS but the input is very jerky/laggy. One of the support guys from the Resolume slack suggested to use Spout instead of USB Video. I got Spout but when I drag the Arena Composition on the deck from the Spout Servers, under Sources, it’s black. No feed is coming trough.

I tried the Demo Sender and that one it’s working.

Any suggestions? Thank you.

The “Arena Composition” source is the output of Arena itself. What you need is a Spout output plugin for OBS to send to Arena. The Spout plugin from Off World Live should do the job. Then you should see OBS listed in the Arena Spout sources.

1 Like

OK, I installed the plugin, I started it in OBS and now I can see the OBS_Spout under sources. But now the feed constantly loops, between OBS and Arena and back, and every correction I make in Arena just multiplies with every loop.

I might be missing something but in my mind, the right way to do what I need was to get the live feed into the Arena first, apply the correction, then send it to OBS where I can add some overlay before I send it to youtube

That seems the way to do this. I am not sure what is happening with the feedback you describe.

I mean, I got the input from the OBS into the Arena and then back to OBS, and now the OBS is changed, going back to Arena and so on… it’s like streaming your own monitor :slight_smile:

Back to the issue, I was thinking to get the feed into the Arena with USB Video (I know that works) and output with Spout. But is there a different (maybe better) way to get the feed into the Arena?

Yes I see. That would be feedback as far as I can see.